Match Report

Senior Shield SF V Kilkishen

Following on from last year’s intermediate success, St. Josephs secured a Senior Shield County Final spot against Truagh/Clonlara next Saturday in Clarecastle, with a win over Kilkishen in Gurteen last Friday evening.
The Parish side managed to keep Kilkishen at arms length throughout and built up an early half time lead, it was Kilkishen who opened the scoring inside the first minute of play with a point from Alannah Ryan.  Minutes later, Caoimhe Hoey blocked down a ball, popped it across to Louise Woods who rattled it to the Kilkishen net. Meghan Boland and Aisling McMahon exchanged points ten minutes into the half with McMahon (1f) and Kilkishen’s Kate Lynch adding a point a piece midway through the half. Caitriona Hennessy added a point of her own before Caoimhe Hoey goaled for the parish in the 22nd minute following a Louise Woods pass. Kate O’ Gorman (1) and Aisling McMahon (1f) added further points in the closing stages to go 2-4 to 0-5 clear at the interval.
Both sides traded points on the resumption, before St. Josephs extended their half time cushion adding 2-2  without reply heading into the closing quarter from Louise Woods (0-2) and Caoimhe Hoey (2-0)  with strong defensive displays from Kate Dillon, Aisling McMahon and the hard working Sarah Hoey.  However, Kilkishen inevitably fought on adding two further points from Kate Lynch and Alannah Ryan. The Parish had the final say in the closing minutes with a goal from Louise Woods and substitute Orlaith Lynch pointed to secure a well deserved win as referee Joe O’Donnell blew the full time whistle.

St. Josephs: Ann Marie McGann, Kate Dillon, Megan O’ Brien, Orla Moloney, Aisling McMahon (0-4f), Eimear Casey, Vanessa Meaney, Michelle O’Neill, Sarah Hoey, Fiona Tuohy, Louise Woods (2-2), Ciara Guilfoyle, Erinn Hennessy, Caoimhe Hoey (3-0), Caitriona Hennessy (0-1).
Subs: Orlaith Lynch (0-1) for Fiona Tuohy, Doireann Hennessy for Caoimhe Hoey (inj).

Kilkishen: Deirdre Cotter, Joanne O’Gorman, Nollaig Baker, Eilis Whitney, Marie McNamara, Kate Lynch (0-2), Edel McNamara, Alannah Ryan (0-2), Aine Clooney, Michelle Tierney, Kate O’ Gorman (0-3), Niamh O’Gorman, Orla McInerney, Aine McInerney, Meghan Boland (0-1).