Match Report

Senior Champ Rd 3 V NOF


Newmarket on Fergus made it three wins from three in the group stages of the PK Travel Senior Championship on Sunday morning in a wet Newmarket GAA. Four second half goals saw the Blues secure the top spot in Group 1 and progress to the semi final stages.

The Senior Champions of 2015 faced the Intermediate Champions from the same year and while St Josephs made the Blues work for every score, the second half performance of the Blues saw them cruise to victory.

Newmarket on Fergus opened the scoring with a Rachel Kelleher free and the Blues hit five more on the bounce, Kelleher and Sharon McMahon before Orlaith Lynch registered St Josephs opening score mid way through the half. Aileen Kilmartin set up the returning Niki Kaiser for the Blues next score which Erinn Hennessy cancelled out at the other end. A brace from Nike Kasier along with a converted free from Kelleher saw the Blues outscore the Parish three to one in the closing minutes to leave the half time score Newmarket on Fergus 0-9 St Josephs 0-3.

The Blues were on the attack from the throw in and Ann Marie McGann was called on immediately to block a rasper of a shot. Sharon McMahon did find the back of the net with her next effort as the ball dipped under the bar. McMahons next effort also saw a green flag being raised as the eldest of the McMahon trio of sisters stamped her authority on the game. Jenny Kelly had the blues third green flag bookended by points from Kelleher and Gemma McInerney. Newmarket were dominant in all sectors of play holding a valiant Parish side to a solitary point throughout the second half. The Blues ended the games with their fourth green flag, Aine O’Brien sending in a ’45 which was blocked on the line with sub Joanne Walsh sending the rebound home to see the Blues secure victory 4-13 to 0-4.

Newmarket on Fergus: Ciara McCarthy; Jane O’Leary, Aoife Griffin, Aimee McInerney; Carol O’Leary, Laura McMahon, Katie O’Flanagan; Roisin McMahon, Aine O’Brien; Sharon McMahon 2-2, Gemma McInerney 0-1, Niki Kaiser 0-3; Rachel Kelleher 0-6, 3F 1’45, Aileen Kilmartin, Iris Kaiser

Subs: AnnMarie Hayes for A. Kilmartin, Jenny Kelly 1-1 for I. Kaiser, Claire Arthur for N. Kaiser, Ruth Kaiser for C. McCarthy, Joanne Walsh 1-0 for R. Kelleher

St Josephs: Ann-Marie McGann; Kate Dillon, Megan O’Brien, Orla Moloney; Vanessa Meaney, Emer Casey, Aisling McMahon 0-1F; Michelle O’Neill, Fiona Tuohy; Catriona Hennessey, Sarah Hoey, Ciara Guilfoyle; Erinn Hennessy 0-1, Orla Lynch 0-1, Louise Woods 0-1

Subs: Caoimhe Hoey for Meaney, Karen O’Brien for Casey, Sarah O’Brien for O’Neill.