St Joseph’s Doora Barefield was established in 1887 and won their first All-Ireland Club Championship in 1999. A hard-working committee ensure that all codes of Hurling | Football | Camogie and Ladies Football are supported both on and off the field, with one of the largest memberships in the county. Based in Gurteen there are three playing pitches, state of the art floodlighting for both grass and Astro turf surfaces, a fully fitted clubhouse, gym and offices as well as a club shop. The indoor hall is available for rent as is the Astro turf and canteen. The club has strong links with the local schools in the parish as well as a large number of community and voluntary organisations locally. Over the years, the committee has built a positive relationship with local businesses who continue to provide financial support for once off and longer term initiatives. 

The Club’s first entry in the roll of honour came in 1898 when Doora won the senior football championship. The first hurling championship did not arrive until 1942, while in 1943 the Junior B title was won.

In the early days, training took place wherever a field was made available. Then in 1966 a field at Roslevan was purchased at a cost of £ 2,200 and developed as the Clubs playing field. The club is indebted to those who had the vision and courage to see it through. Foremost among them were Jimmy Corry, Jimmy McNamara, Seamus Conlon, Sean Minogue, Dinny Mac Namara and Canon Brady

This club contested the senior final in 1951 but lost to Ruan. However, this team did win the championship in 1954 and repeated the success in 1958. Other titles won around this time were two Clare Champion Cups ‘53 and ‘57; and two junior A titles in ‘52 and ‘60. The club provided several players to the county panel at this time , notably, Matt Nugent, Johnny Purcell, Donal O Grady, Mick Hayes and Gerry Browne.

The 1990s proved to be the golden era for hurling in the Club. The minor A title was won in 1990, two U/21 titles in ‘93 and ‘94, and the intermediate title in ‘93 all paved the way for major successes later in the decade. St Josephs, now a senior team, contested two county finals, in 1994 and 1997, losing to Clarecastle in both. In 1998 St Josephs defeated Kilmaley to win their first senior title since 1958 captained by Lorcan Hassett. They continued their success in Munster, beating Mount Sion and Toomevara and after a famous win over Athenry they qualified to meet Rathnure in the final. March 17th 1999 was a glorious day in Croke Park and St Josephs were crowned All Ireland Club Champions after a comprehensive victory. This team won County and Munster again in 1999 but lost to Athenry in the final at Croke Park. St Josephs  returned to win the County final again in 2001. This has remained the last senior championship won, but Intermediate and Junior titles have been won in the meantime.

In 2024, St. Joseph’s Doora Barefield is competing at senior level in Hurling, Football, Camogie and Ladies Football.


Archived Video Footage

If you would like to contact the club please email [email protected] or contact Chairperson – Robert Hurley on 086 823 4005