Under 21 B Football County Champions 2015

Under 21 B Football Championship

Date Venue Win/Loss Team 1 Score Team 2 Score
 –  – Win St. Joseph’s W/O Killimer W/O
1-Nov Eire Og Win St. Joseph’s 4-09 Clarecastle 0-07
21-Nov Eire Og Win St. Joseph’s 3-06 Corofin 0-07

The Management team was Ciaran O’Neill, Alan O’Neill, Darragh Murphy and Martin Sexton.

Under 21 B Football County Champions

Final Score from Eire Og; St. Joseph’s Doora/Barefield 3-06 to 0-07

This truly was a great way to finish the season for the Club. The venue for this encounter was Eire Og on a miserable (weather-wise) November weekend. The surface in Eire Og on the day was difficult to contend with but both teams were eager to get going and get their hands on the all-important trophy.

Both teams opted for 2 man full-forward lines. David Conroy was the St. Joseph’s third midfielder. St. Joseph’s had to wait until the seventh minute to register their first score. It was worth waiting for as Finn O’Reilly’s move ended up with him thundering the ball past Aidan Collins in the Corofin goal.

Niall Duggan made some heroic saves in the St. Joseph’s goal. Corofin pegged a few points back to level the encounter on the 20-minute mark. St. Joseph’s were back in front through a David Conroy point after good fielding by Brian Guilfoyle. The half ended on a score of 1-1 to 0-4.

The second half started very brightly with Aaron Landy pointing after two minutes to put his side into the lead. The lead for the Parish increased to three by way of scores from Brian Guilfoyle and Finn O’Reilly. Corofin got themselves into difficulty by conceding a penalty which was duly slotted home by Aaron Landy. David Conroy followed soon after with a point to make the margin six points.

Corofin never gave up but St. Joseph’s were the more physical side in the encounter. Landy was truly the story of the second half as he got another goal in injury time to seal the win. The Parish held firm for an impressive eight point win in the end. Treasurer of Clare GAA and St. Joseph’s Clubman, Bernard Keane presented the U-21 B Cup to St. Joseph’s joint captains, Aaron Landy and Donal O’Halloran.

Team: Niall Duggan, Kevin Meaney, Donal O’Halloran, Peter Collins, Seamus Nugent, Conor O’Brien, Jack Hannan, Eoin Hanrahan, Conor O’Brien, Brian Guilfoyle (0-1), Finn O’Reilly (1-1), Tom Hannan, David Conroy (0-2), Aaron Landy (2-2, 1-0 pen), Kieran Thynne. Subs Cian Barron for Nugent (injured).